School Board

Saint Joseph Catholic Schools have a combined school board for the elementary school and the high school. The Saint Joseph Catholic Schools Board acts in an advisory capacity to the schools Principals. This school board gives generously of their time and talents to support our students. 

Parents who are not board members are welcome to come to the beginning of any school board meeting. During this time there is an open invitation for any concerns, questions and/or other issues to be voiced by attending parents.


2017 - 2018 School Board Members

Lisa Arbogast (Past Board Chair), Attorney/Consultant


Rev. Charles Cummins, Pastor, Weber State University Newman Center


Nancy Essary, Principal, Saint Joseph Catholic Elementary School (Ex-Officio)


Clay Jones, Principal, Saint Joseph Catholic High School (Ex-Officio)


Mark Longe, Superintendent, Utah Catholic Schools (Ex-Officio)


Carsten Lau, (Board Chair) Marketing Communications Manager, General Electric


Bob McConaughy, Electronics Technician, Hill Air Force Base


Fr. Erik Richsteig, Pastor, Saint James the Just Catholic Church


Fr. Joseph Delka, Associate Pastor, Saint Joseph Catholic Church


Catherine Slatter, CFO, Logistic Specialties


Dr. Jennifer Claesgens, Director, Center for Science and Math Education, WSU


Dr. Marc Ybaben, Psychologist, Occupational Medicine Services, Hill AFB


Carl VanMeetern, Operations Engineer/Business Owner


Amada Chavez, Restaurant Owner (New Member)


Michael Callahan, Retired, Former Executive Officer/Sr. Vice President of Business Development and International Operations for Cabela’s (New Member)


Kevin Wilson, Flight Systems Solutions Business Development Manager HAFB (New Member)


Herman Armendariz, Consultant, Business Owner, Hispanic Committee Representative (New Member)


Shawn Choate, Ogden City Human Resources Manager


Carole Burbridge-Layman, Advancement Director, Saint Joseph Catholic Schools (Ex-Officio)